World footballer and world footballer: Messi and Putellas awarded again

World footballer and world footballer: Messi and Putellas awarded again

Updated: 24 days, 5 hours, 53 minutes, 2 seconds ago

Not super striker Kylian Mbappe, not Champions League winner Karim Benzema – Lionel Messi has again been named the best player in the world by FIFA. Argentina’s national hero outperformed his well-known competitors in the prestigious election and received the award for the seventh time. Alexia Putellas won the World Player of the Year election.

“I don’t know what to say. It’s again a great honor to be selected and to be the winner,” said Messi, who received the award exactly 71 days after triumphing at the World Cup in Qatar on Monday evening (27.02 .2023) at “The Best FIFA Football Awards” in Paris. In his speech, he thanked his family and all his teammates.

The 35-year-old succeeds Robert Lewandowski, the World Player of the Year in 2020 and 2021, and won the trophy for the first time since 2019. For Messi, the election is another highlight of his great career, which he culminated in winning the World Cup final (4-2 iE) against France and the award as the best player of the tournament in Qatar.

Mbappe, Messi’s teammate at Paris St. Germain, scored three goals for France in the final and was top scorer – but he has to be patient in the world footballer’s election. Just like Ballon d’Or winner Benzema from Real Madrid, who had missed the Equipe Tricolore at the World Cup injured.

FIFA World Player Alexia Putellas

Image: Franck Fife/AFP

Putellas wins like last year

As with the men, the decision for the women also took place without German participation. Spain’s last year’s winner Alexia Putellas won against English European champion Beth Mead and US star Alex Morgan. The vice European champions Lena Oberdorf and Alexandra Popp from VfL Wolfsburg had been in the preselection, but did not receive the required number of votes.

Chelsea goalkeeper Berger lands behind Earps

On the other hand, national player Ann-Katrin Berger from Chelsea, who announced that she had contracted thyroid cancer again after the 2022 European Championship, was one of the three finalists in the world goalkeeper election, as in the previous year. However, she went away empty-handed again: England’s Mary Earps (Manchester United) won.

Argentina’s world champion goalkeeper Emiliano Martínez prevailed against Belgian Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid) and Moroccan Bono (FC Sevilla).

Argentina’s men’s success was rounded off on Monday by Lionel Scaloni, who will now be crowned FIFA World Coach. The high-flyer left Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid) and Pep Guardiola (Manchester City) behind in the vote.

Shortly before, the Argentine Football Association (AFA) had announced that the contract with Scaloni as coach of the Albiceleste would also be extended until the next World Cup in 2026.

England coach Sarina Wiegman triumphed over Sonia Bompastor (Olympique Lyon) and Pia Sundhage (Brazil). The national coaches, the captains of the national teams, journalists and fans may take part in the voting.

All finalists of the FIFA election at a glance:

world footballer: Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid), Kylian Mbappé (France), Lionel Messi (Argentina/both Paris Saint-Germain)

World Player: Alexia Putellas (Spain/Barcelona), Beth Mead (England/Arsenal), Alex Morgan (USA/Orlando Pride/San Diego Wave)

World Goalkeeper: Bono (Morocco/FC Sevilla), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Real Madrid), Emiliano Martinez (Argentina/Aston Villa)

World Goalkeeper: Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany/Chelsea), Mary Earps (England/Manchester United), Christiane Endler (Chile/Olympique Lyon)

World Coach: Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid), Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), Lionel Scaloni (Argentina)

world coach: Sonia Bompastor (Olympique Lyon), Pia Sundhage (Brazil), Sarina Wiegman (England)

Puskas Price: Marcin Oleksy (Poland), Dimitri Payet (France), Richarlison (Brazil)