2023 NFL Playoffs Bracket: Championship Round Schedule, TV, Odds as Eagles, 49ers Prepare for NFC Slugfest

2023 NFL Playoffs Bracket: Championship Round Schedule, TV, Odds as Eagles, 49ers Prepare for NFC Slugfest

Updated: 9 days, 12 hours, 7 minutes, 29 seconds ago

The divisional round of the playoffs certainly cleared up some narratives about who the best teams in the NFL were after an exciting weekend of games. Ultimately, the league has its top four teams playing in the conference championship weekend.

The Philadelphia Eagles rode to victory over the New York Giants, proving they are still one of the best teams in the league and the Super Bowl contender they have been all season. Philadelphia will host the NFC Championship game against the San Francisco 49ers, who won a showdown against the Dallas Cowboys to start the conference with a matchup between their top two seeds.

The AFC Championship Game features a highly anticipated rematch between the Kansas City Chiefs and the Cincinnati Bengals in what is sure to be the best game of the season. Patrick Mahomes performed well with a high ankle sprain to help the Chiefs get past the Jacksonville Jaguars while Joe Burrow led the Bengals to a dominant win over the Buffalo Bills – in snowy Buffalo.

The conference championship weekend has what it takes to be an all-timer. Here’s an early introduction to what’s coming up next week.

All odds courtesy of Caesars Sportsbook

NFC Championship Game

(2) San Francisco 49ers vs. (1) Philadelphia Eagles

When: Sunday, January 29, 3 p.m. ET
TV: Fox | Electricity: fuboTV
Line: Eagle -2, O/U 45.5

The 49ers and Eagles don’t have long playoff histories, as Philadelphia and San Francisco only met once in the postseason (the 49ers won 14-0 in the 1996 NFC wild card round). Jalen Hurts and Brock Purdy — both starting quarterbacks in the game — weren’t even born yet. Hurts (24 years, 175 days) vs. Purdy (23 years, 33 days) will be the youngest matchup in NFC Championship Game history.

Purdy is the fourth quarterback drafted (or not drafted) in the sixth round or later to reach a conference championship in his first season as a starter. The 49ers are playing in their 18th conference championship game, the most successful in NFL history (and third in the last four years). They are the only NFC team that has never played on the road in Philadelphia in a playoff game.

Hurts is the youngest quarterback in Eagles history to reach the conference championship game, breaking Donovan McNabb’s record set in 2001. This is the Eagles’ seventh conference championship appearance since 2000, the most in the NFC and behind the New England Patriots in the NFL. The Eagles are looking for their fourth Super Bowl appearance in franchise history and second in the last six seasons.

The Eagles finished with the top offense in the NFC in points and yards per game. The 49ers finished with the top defense in the NFC in points and yards per game. This game will surely cement the age-old debate between offense and defense and set the stage for a thriller in Philadelphia.

AFC Championship Game

(4) Cincinnati Bengals at (1) Kansas City Chiefs

When: Sunday, January 29 at 6:30 p.m. ET
TV: CBS | Electricity: Outstanding+
Line: Chiefs -1.5, O/U 47.5

A replay of last year’s AFC title game against the Chiefs and Bengals is already worth the hype. Add Patrick Mahomes and Joe Burrow and NFL fans could be in for another classic, especially with Mahomes playing through an ankle sprain.

Mahomes has never beaten the Bengals since Burrow became the starting quarterback and has gone 3-0 against him in the last two seasons — including last year’s AFC Championship Game, which gave Kansas City a 21-10 lead in the second quarter playful and 27-24 lost over time. Each of those meetings was decided by exactly three points, with Cincinnati beating Kansas City 26-6 and overtime in those games in the fourth quarter.

Mahomes will be the only quarterbacks, along with Tom Brady (eight straight) and Ken Stabler (five), to start five straight conference championship games as the Chiefs become the first team in NFL history to win the five conference championship -Plays games in a row at home. He is also the only quarterback to lead a team to five conference championship games before age 30. The Chiefs just want to become the ninth team to reach the Super Bowl three times in four years.

The Bengals are attempting to make the Super Bowl in consecutive seasons and are attempting to become the first team since seeding began in 1975 to make back-to-back Super Bowls without having a top 2 seed in either season. Joe Burrow can join Russell Wilson as the only quarterback to start two Super Bowls in his first three seasons. Burrow is 5-1 in his playoff career and 3-0 away (the Bengals have never won a postseason road game before Burrow). Cincinnati has never lost an AFC Championship game 3-0 in franchise history.

Mahomes vs. Burrow IV should be a classic no matter how the Chiefs quarterback plays with his high sprained ankle.